life / me / photos

Catching Up and Moving On…

A couple of months ago I made the decision to actively start looking a new place. I’d been checking places out as I stumbled upon them but I hadn’t really been looking. Within the week I’d found something, paid my first and last month’s rent and started prepping the place for the big move.

It isn’t much, just a two bedroom bungalow, but I really love it here – although it’s been a bit of an adjustment. I’ve never really, truly lived on my own since the Little Dude was born – I had my own place but JME was always there and there was never a day or night when I was truly alone.
This is different.
I wasn’t really prepared for it and I’m almost embarassed to say that there was a bit of a culture shock. I don’t mean that in ways that I think most people would expect it – it’s not that I was living with my family and they were doing all the work of raising my child for me or something like that, in fact it was rare that I ever asked for a break because I was just so grateful that they allowed me to stay with them while I figured out what I was doing. It’s almost just the opposite of that. Now that I don’t live there I find myself with an excess of time to myself and I don’t know what to do with myself.
I know it sounds ridiculous, I do.
It’s just that I’m the type of person that enjoys being around people. At the end of the night when the house is quiet and the Little Dude is in bed and it’s just me? It’s lonely.
It just is.

Now that we aren’t sharing a living space I find myself sans enfant many times a week. An Aunt stopping by to take him shopping, a Papa picking him up for “guy time” and a Nana picking him up for whatever it is that Nanas and Little Dudes do and the occassional sleepover.

Where before I would have been elated to have a whole night to myself and a whole night of uninterrupted sleep, I find myself disappointed. Disappointed that I don’t get to have dinner with him and cuddle on the couch while he tells me about his day at preschool. Even though I get to do that every other night.

It makes me feel slightly insane – feeling like I can’t wait until I get a break and then feeling disappointed when he’s gone.

Aside from still adjusting to our new living situation things are going really well. I love this house – it’s the little cottagey type house I’ve been on the hunt for. I love it so much, in fact, that I have agreed to buy it. Not now, but next year after I’ve put together a nice down-payment.
My landlord plans to retire in the next year or two and he wants to sell all of his rental properties.
Which was kind of convenient for me because I’d planned on asking him if he’d be interested in selling.
It’s small.
But it’s a great investment and it’s in a great location – near everything in town and a very short block from Lake Erie. It’s wonderful – other than the spiders.
*shudders*

The place was a bit of a mess when we began moving things in – nicotine coated the walls and ceilings, so badly that it couldn’t be washed off and had to be painted. So, paint we did. Three coats on all the ceilings and fresh paint on the walls – and you can still see the nicotine, but it’s a million times better than it was.

I had to get rid of so much furniture just because there was no possible way it was going to fit. I still need to finish unpacking and I need to decorate but I have some photos anyway:

This is the kitchen before. We didn’t do much to it other than change the light fixture and give it a coat of paint.

The kitchen

The kitchen... and my landlord's wife.. lol

After:

The painted kitchen

After, with a coat of paint.

The living room. It was a deep purple and kind of made the room seem smaller.
Before:

Living room, before

The living room (and my Mama), before. It looks a lot better in the photo than it did in person.

Still figuring some things out and I still have tonnnnnnssssss to unpack but this is the living room (after) for now:

The living room, as it is right now.

The hallway-ish area

The bedrooms were almost identical – a dark shade of blue with similar layouts and light fixtures. One was a little bit bigger than the other and I stuck the Little Dude in there. You know, since he has way more hot wheels and trains than I do.

My bedroom, before.

Bedroom, after

My bedroom, pre-decorating, post-paint

So that, in short, is what I’ve been up to since June.
Well, when I say ‘I’, I should really say my Mother. She did the vast majority of the painting for me since I couldn’t – I sprained my wrist very badly so I couldn’t do much of the painting or unpacking or much of the work. I can’t tell you how much I appreciated it.

Another big change is that I’m in the process of moving my entire office, temporarily, into the house. My goal for the year is to finally find a retail space for the store and since I want to save as much as possible for my downpayment on the house I figure the smartest thing I could do is to not renew my lease on the office.
So.. that’s where I am. At the end of the month I will officially be working from home, which is incredibly terrifying because I’m not sure I’ll be able to go from “work mode” to “home mode” as easily as I could before.. but, in the long run, it’s what’s best. I think.
I don’t know really.
But that’s what I’m going to go with.

 

Oh! And I got a cat – so I could get a start on my old cat lady, spinster ways.
Her name is Penny, a la Big Bang Theory.

 

Penny.

 The Little Dude actually wanted a dog but me, being the commitmentphobe that I am, I wasn’t sure I had the time, space or patience for one right now. So this was our compromise.
Turns out that she is more of a handful than any dog would have been, I’m sure of it.

Now to go catch up on all of the blogs I haven’t been reading for the last three months and see what I’ve been missing out on.. lol

4 thoughts on “Catching Up and Moving On…

  1. AW! Love the place. Isn’t it fun to make something your own?

    You’ll get used to your alone time. You’ll find something to keep you busy, I promise! It is an adjustment for sure.

    Glad you’re back and all is well. You were missed!

  2. Gosh you’ve had tons going on haven’t you? I remember when I was alone in my own place because my kids were at their father’s and I was 90 miles from family. It was hard to adjust. But I really have adjusted and now when I have my kids for too many days in a row I’m like “when are you going to your father’s?!?” HA! You’re doing so great. The house looks adorable!! Congrats on the fun, exciting, big changes in your life lately 🙂

Leave a Reply

life / me / photos

Catching Up and Moving On…

A couple of months ago I made the decision to actively start looking a new place. I’d been checking places out as I stumbled upon them but I hadn’t really been looking. Within the week I’d found something, paid my first and last month’s rent and started prepping the place for the big move.

It isn’t much, just a two bedroom bungalow, but I really love it here – although it’s been a bit of an adjustment. I’ve never really, truly lived on my own since the Little Dude was born – I had my own place but JME was always there and there was never a day or night when I was truly alone.
This is different.
I wasn’t really prepared for it and I’m almost embarassed to say that there was a bit of a culture shock. I don’t mean that in ways that I think most people would expect it – it’s not that I was living with my family and they were doing all the work of raising my child for me or something like that, in fact it was rare that I ever asked for a break because I was just so grateful that they allowed me to stay with them while I figured out what I was doing. It’s almost just the opposite of that. Now that I don’t live there I find myself with an excess of time to myself and I don’t know what to do with myself.
I know it sounds ridiculous, I do.
It’s just that I’m the type of person that enjoys being around people. At the end of the night when the house is quiet and the Little Dude is in bed and it’s just me? It’s lonely.
It just is.

Now that we aren’t sharing a living space I find myself sans enfant many times a week. An Aunt stopping by to take him shopping, a Papa picking him up for “guy time” and a Nana picking him up for whatever it is that Nanas and Little Dudes do and the occassional sleepover.

Where before I would have been elated to have a whole night to myself and a whole night of uninterrupted sleep, I find myself disappointed. Disappointed that I don’t get to have dinner with him and cuddle on the couch while he tells me about his day at preschool. Even though I get to do that every other night.

It makes me feel slightly insane – feeling like I can’t wait until I get a break and then feeling disappointed when he’s gone.

Aside from still adjusting to our new living situation things are going really well. I love this house – it’s the little cottagey type house I’ve been on the hunt for. I love it so much, in fact, that I have agreed to buy it. Not now, but next year after I’ve put together a nice down-payment.
My landlord plans to retire in the next year or two and he wants to sell all of his rental properties.
Which was kind of convenient for me because I’d planned on asking him if he’d be interested in selling.
It’s small.
But it’s a great investment and it’s in a great location – near everything in town and a very short block from Lake Erie. It’s wonderful – other than the spiders.
*shudders*

The place was a bit of a mess when we began moving things in – nicotine coated the walls and ceilings, so badly that it couldn’t be washed off and had to be painted. So, paint we did. Three coats on all the ceilings and fresh paint on the walls – and you can still see the nicotine, but it’s a million times better than it was.

I had to get rid of so much furniture just because there was no possible way it was going to fit. I still need to finish unpacking and I need to decorate but I have some photos anyway:

This is the kitchen before. We didn’t do much to it other than change the light fixture and give it a coat of paint.

The kitchen

The kitchen... and my landlord's wife.. lol

After:

The painted kitchen

After, with a coat of paint.

The living room. It was a deep purple and kind of made the room seem smaller.
Before:

Living room, before

The living room (and my Mama), before. It looks a lot better in the photo than it did in person.

Still figuring some things out and I still have tonnnnnnssssss to unpack but this is the living room (after) for now:

The living room, as it is right now.

The hallway-ish area

The bedrooms were almost identical – a dark shade of blue with similar layouts and light fixtures. One was a little bit bigger than the other and I stuck the Little Dude in there. You know, since he has way more hot wheels and trains than I do.

My bedroom, before.

Bedroom, after

My bedroom, pre-decorating, post-paint

So that, in short, is what I’ve been up to since June.
Well, when I say ‘I’, I should really say my Mother. She did the vast majority of the painting for me since I couldn’t – I sprained my wrist very badly so I couldn’t do much of the painting or unpacking or much of the work. I can’t tell you how much I appreciated it.

Another big change is that I’m in the process of moving my entire office, temporarily, into the house. My goal for the year is to finally find a retail space for the store and since I want to save as much as possible for my downpayment on the house I figure the smartest thing I could do is to not renew my lease on the office.
So.. that’s where I am. At the end of the month I will officially be working from home, which is incredibly terrifying because I’m not sure I’ll be able to go from “work mode” to “home mode” as easily as I could before.. but, in the long run, it’s what’s best. I think.
I don’t know really.
But that’s what I’m going to go with.

 

Oh! And I got a cat – so I could get a start on my old cat lady, spinster ways.
Her name is Penny, a la Big Bang Theory.

 

Penny.

The Little Dude actually wanted a dog but me, being the commitmentphobe that I am, I wasn’t sure I had the time, space or patience for one right now. So this was our compromise.
Turns out that she is more of a handful than any dog would have been, I’m sure of it.

Now to go catch up on all of the blogs I haven’t been reading for the last three months and see what I’ve been missing out on.. lol

Leave a Reply

