dating / EXs / friendship / life / Little Dude / me / my relationship with me / photos / relationships

Road Trips, Tattoos, Girly Time and Basketball.

I spent my weekend doing a lot of driving.
I made the trek up to Ottawa on Friday, dealt with some things that needed to be dealt with and headed to Kingston early Saturday morning for my girly weekend with K and our two kiddos.

 

I drove for a total of 28 hours this weekend, Friday to Monday.
Not including all of the driving around I did on Thursday in preparation for a weekend away.

 

28 hours is a lot of time to be alone with your thoughts.

 

I have a lot to write about. An inner dialogue has been stirring in my head for the last few days.
I have several posts waiting to be posted – and they probably never will.
I’ll probably just start writing them over and over again until I decide to hit publish – like I always do.
Or I might just keep them private – like I sometimes do.

There’s a certain power in hitting publish and letting everyone read your thoughts though.
Like putting it out there in the universe suddenly makes a lot of that weight come off your shoulders and you can breathe again. Keeping it private gets it out of your head but there is never quite that same sense of relief.
Weird, isn’t it?

I don’t know what the point of even posting this is but rather than post nothing, I’m letting you know that there is something. It’s coming. I just need to work it out a little bit more.
It’s like the dialogue is there but it won’t quite convert properly from brain to mouth or brain to keyboard.

 

I got a lot of it out on Saturday, which wasn’t the point of our visit but I am immensely grateful to have such a wonderful friend.
The problem with getting things out and actually voicing it to someone is that they have thoughts, opinions and observations to add to the mix.
Sometimes you end up right back at the confusing place you started from.

*sigh*

Sometimes you write cryptic blog posts because you need to get something off your chest and just can’t make it  happen the way you want to.

In other, much less vague, news I enjoyed my weekend.
I re-booked my tattoo for the night before we left (after The Dad made me miss my original appointment by showing up uber late for his visit with the Little Dude) and I love it. It wasn’t what I went in looking for but I’m rather happy with it.

 

It’s healing up nicely but it’s itchy as hell.
Partly due to the fact that I decided to take a bubble bath.
I had to get out a lot earlier than I normally would have because it was making me so itchy I couldn’t stand it.

I haven’t actually told anyone (IRL) about it, other than B, mostly because I like having it as something that is just for me.
I don’t want to have to explain it to people.

“It’s partly from a song that means a lot to me.”
“No, not the Meatloaf song.”
“It’s latin.”
“I didn’t want to write it in English.”

I already went through all of this with the guy at front desk of the tattoo shop – although I think he might have been flirting with me. I’m kind of oblivious to that kind of stuff.

It’s just for me.
I like knowing it’s there and I don’t think it’s necessary that everyone – or even anyone – else does.

On Friday morning the Little Dude, still sleeping, and I headed out on our very uneventful drive up to the O. It went smoothly and we made great time. Had lunch with A, The Nephew and The Boys.
Her belly is getting so big! I can’t wait until the twins arrive and I hate that I’m missing being there for her when she really needs it right now.

There was a late night of awesomeness and an Always Sunny In Philadelphia marathon before heading out early in the AM to see K.
I have a blog post about our visit waiting to be posted so I won’t get into it now.
I’ll just say that it was good – really good.

To finish off our weekend we headed to Toronto for the second last Raptors game of the season. It was great. Auntie A pulled some strings and made the experience extra special for the Little Dude and then after the game all of the kids got to try a free throw. He told me he had to “go to work” for a few minutes while he was on the court. Adorable.

We went to the game with Grandpa Grandpa and Grandma Z and ended up crashing at their house for the night rather than finish the drive home. Things with The Dad weren’t overly weird considering all of the tension from the other weekend and it ended up being a pretty pleasant visit.
We drove home after The Dad left for work in the morning and I’ve been exhausted ever since.
28 hours of driving. Not nearly enough sleep.

4 thoughts on “Road Trips, Tattoos, Girly Time and Basketball.

  1. I’ve ALWAYS wanted to get a tattoo but have ALWAYS found an reason or excuse to not get one (i.e. too much money, not enough time, don’t know what I’ll get, etc).

    I have promised myself that on my 40th birthday (which…scarily enough…is next year…SHUDDER) I’ll get a tattoo. Finally.

    I can only imagine how painful that particular place was on you to get done. I think I’ll stick to the basic upper arm area.

    • I’ve been wanting to get one since the Little Dude was born and specifically this one for almost two years now. I kept putting it off and putting it off until I just said screw it, I’m doing it now. lol
      Plus I figured it was a great 25th birthday present to myself.

      It wasn’t as bad as I prepared myself for but it was definitely worse than my other two. More so towards the front than the back but it didn’t hurt enough that I’d say I’d never get another one. On my drive home I was thinking “What can I get done next?”
      lol

      What kind of tattoo do you want to get?

Leave a Reply

