Army / Deployment / friendship / relationships

Operation: Deployment.

Today my best friend’s husband was deployed to Afghanistan.
Needless to say, it’s been kind of an emotional day.

I can’t imagine what is going through her head right now – I won’t even try.
I’ve never gone through that myself although I’ve had handfuls of close friends deploy, just last year.
I know that experience was difficult enough, especially on my son who was close with these friends as well.
We lived near the airport and the air base so every time he saw a plane he’d ask if that was our guys, coming home.
Every time I told him no it broke his heart a little bit.
It never got easier to comfort him, or easier to explain – he was only just barely 3, they deployed on his birthday.
I don’t think I’d know how to explain to a two year old why her daddy wasn’t home.
Why he’s missing at her birthday party and possibly the birth of her new sibling. Although maybe it’s easier to do when you’re actually in that situation. When you’ve been mentally preparing for it for so long.


So it kind of kills me to know that she is sitting, 6 hours away, at the base by herself with their two year old daughter right now.
I wish I could be there for her.
Wish there was something I could do to comfort her right now – but there isn’t.
I just keep telling her that I love her.

 

I love, love.
I love their story.
I love the way they met, came together, struggled and prevailed.
I love how much they love each other.

 

I have no doubt that their relationship will remain strong throughout his deployment but at the same time my heart aches for them and their daughter. I know it isn’t going to be easy on either of them. Especially K. Stress, heartache and pregnancy hormones are never a comfortable combination.

And N, it can’t be easy for him to leave his family behind, and it can’t be easy to be over there.
I haven’t seen him since their wedding because he’s always been on course when she and I visit each other or go out shopping so I couldn’t resist sending him a few texts before he left.

I don’t necessarily believe in God but I do have faith.
So for the span of his deployment I’ll be thinking about and praying for him, K and their family.
I believe in the power of positive thinking and the strength of faith.
I think that’s all I can do for them between care packages and visits to K.
And I know she doesn’t pray but I’ve forwarded this prayer, The “Army Wife Prayer,” along to her, in case she feels she needs to.

Dear Lord,
Give me the greatness of heart to see the difference between duty and his love for me. Give me understanding that I may know, when duty calls him he must go. Give me a task to do each day, to fill the time when he’s away. And Lord, when he’s in a foreign land, keep him safe in your loving hand. And Lord, when duty is in the field, please protect him and be his shield. And Lord, when deployment is so long, please stay with me and keep me strong. Amen.

She had a hard time preparing for his deployment – although deploying has always been a part of their plan – and I know she’s probably going to have a hard time while her heart is in Afghanistan. I hope she remembers that she can lean on me when she needs her spirits lifted and to never forget that trust, honesty and communication will help keep them strong together while he’s gone..
I really wish I had more to offer than just a hand to hold..

When we were younger, and singler (so not a word, I know.) she always said: “Don’t settle for somebody you can live with, wait for the one you don’t want to live without.”

He was her one.
Has been since the first night they met – trust me, I was there.
So I have a pretty big soft spot for him.
It won’t be anywhere near as challenging for me as it will be for her but I’ll probably be holding my breath until he gets back.

All of my thoughts and all of my prayers are with them now, even if I couldn’t be there physically.

I love you guys.
♥.


8 thoughts on “Operation: Deployment.

    • And that’s what I’ll do.
      I’ve let her know that my phone is on all night and she can call me anytime – and she has already just this week.
      I’m going up there to be with her for the weekend and I’m hoping I can make her feel better – even if it’s just for a night or two.

  1. Deployment sucks. Period. Been there, done that.

    But it is what they’re trained to do. It is his job. Half his heart will be home but his mind will be on the task at hand and it has to be. It will be what keeps him safe and brings him back home to his family.

    I too will say prayers for them. Thank you for sharing this.

    • It’s a difficult transition but I know they’re strong and they’re going to come out of it even stronger.
      Deploying is something that he’s wanted to do since he enlisted many years ago and I think (hope) if he wasn’t prepared to keep his mind on the task at hand he wouldn’t have volunteered to go. I just want him to stay safe. No distractions allowed!

      Thank you for your prayers T, I’ll let them know there are people out there praying for them.

  2. I don’t know how army families do it. I really don’t. I crumble on to the floor in a crying mess during those shows or news segments where they show the families being reunited when their soldiers come home. We have so many reason to be thankful – and so many soldiers to thank.

    • It can’t be easy.
      I know it hasn’t been for her and on top of that there are a lot of variables in their situation that I didn’t know until the first time I talked to her after he left.

      I just keep telling her I’m here for her and that my cellphone is on all night so she can call me anytime she needs to.

  3. I will always support the troops. But I just don’t think I handle the love of my life being deployed. Like seriously. Couldn’t handle it. Prayers and thoughts go out to your friends, both the one who had to leave and the one who has to live without him for a little while.

  4. Pingback: Jealousy: It’s An Ugly Look On Everybody, Especially Me. « Mister Mama, Sir

Leave a Reply

