blogging / me / my relationship with me / relationships

It’s (almost) My 25th Birthday – These Are 25 Things That Make Me Happy.

I started this post with the intention of listing 25 things that make me feel old but I vetoed it for 25 things that make me happy.
Although the other list may make an appearance at some point.

 

  1. The little guy. He wins the #1 spot. Always.
    How could he not?
    There is not a single day that goes by where he doesn’t make me smile or laugh until my sides hurt. From his own little language to the names he has for things and the expressions on his face – he’s priceless. He’s one of a kind and all mine.
    I think being his mama makes me a better person.

  2. The beach.
    I love digging my toes into the hot sand and soaking up some warm sun.
  3. The rain.
    I love the sound of it – even the smell of it.
    I think the perfect summer night includes sitting outside and enjoying it.
  4. Tulips.
    They are my favourite flower, for no particular reason and I think they’re beautiful.
  5. Girls’ night out.
    I love my girls and even if girls’ night is only spent at the coffee shop downtown, or on someone’s couch drinking wine, it’s still perfect.
  6. My “nephew,” S.
    Second cutest kid ever. Hands down.
    One chubby fistful of banana shoved into your mouth and you’ll fall in love with him too.
  7. Photography.
    I love my camera – I use it every single day.
    I love being able to capture the beauty in things.
  8. Doing stupid fun things with my friends.
    In public. Sans children.
    And documenting it on camera.
    (I am the skeeball champ, fyi)
  9. Babies.
    Because even when they’re squishy and angry – they’re still cute.
    And so soft.
    And they smell sooo good.
  10. Summer dresses.
    I have an obnoxiously large collection of them and I wear them just as often as I wear jeans and a tee.
    They’re perfect for everything.
  11. Text messages.
    I’ve blogged about it before so I’ll just leave it at that.
  12. Music.
    Anything that makes me wanna fall in love, make love, laugh, cry or dance.
  13. Cuddling in bed.
    There’s nothing more soothing than laying with your guy’s arms wrapped around you.
    Feeling the warmth of their body up against yours.
  14. A new pair of shoes.
    Yes, I’m a girl.
  15. Reading.
    I’ll read anything and everything I can get my hands on.
    My mom taught me how to read before I started Junior Kindergarten and it really stuck with me.
    I just started “Ghost Soldiers,” it’s great so far.
    I just finished this:
  16. A good glass of red wine.
    With dinner, out with friends or just because!
  17. Love.
  18. Halloween.
    Going out with my friends or trick or treating with my little monster (or batman, depending on the year), it’s always my favourite holiday.
    Always makes me happy.
  19. Dogs.
    I love dogs of all sizes and I can’t wait until I have the time and space to adopt another.
    We had to put mine down a couple of years ago and I still miss her!
    She was my big sucky baby.
  20. Bonfires.
    Another thing that I love the smell of and another favourite part of summer!
    Or winter.
    Or anytime.
    And of course the only photo I could find was from high school..
  21. Camping!
    We used to spend most of August camping in the middle of nowhere when I was growing up and I can’t wait to start with tradition with the little guy. He loves the idea of it, and loves his tent – he just doesn’t love sleeping in it outside, yet.
    We’re working on it.
  22. Going to weddings.
    And not just for the open bar.
    I love seeing my friends fall in love and start making their lives together.
    It makes me very, very happy.
  23. Cocktails.
    Specifically: figuring out how to make something I tried at a bar and loved.
    Sour apple martinis for the win!
  24. Bubblebaths.
    I love soaking in the tub, reading a book and listening to some good music.
    Or having a glass of wine.
    It’s so relaxing.
    Perfection.
  25. Hot power yoga!
    There aren’t any classes in the town where we live now so when I do get around to finding a class I’m in heaven.
    I don’t have the patience for regular yoga but this athletic and sweaty version of it is right up my alley.
    I feel like I’m walking on air when I finish a session.

 

So, those are mine – share yours in the comments or write your own post and let me know!
Can’t wait to read what other people have to say!

5 thoughts on “It’s (almost) My 25th Birthday – These Are 25 Things That Make Me Happy.

  1. Ok we have A LOT in common. And when you get your butt to Dallas, we’re totally going to go play Skeeball.

    You’re only 25?!? Sheesh, you’re still a pup!

  2. Pingback: It’s My Birthday: 25 Photos For 25 Years « Mister Mama, Sir

Leave a Reply

