Bi-weekly Workout Posts / blogging / body image / exercise / fitness / health / me / measurements / workout

Workin’ on My Fitness: Getting Fergielicious.

Please disregard the title.. it’s 2AM and I haven’t had a full night of sleep in like, 5 days. It’s the best I’ve got.

I’ve blogged about fitness and accountability before and here I am, doing it again!

While it’s always good to have a workout buddy to hold you accountable day to day, it never hurts to have some backup!
So, Randaroopoo and I have a deal – we’re going to hold each other accountable with bi-weekly blogs, and/or vlogs, on the 1st and 15th of every month and a monthly weigh-in!

She’s going to be blogging over at I Heart Pork Chops and I’ll be throwing my posts in with the other things I write about here.
(Maybe we can get MH at Ash Multimedia to join us. heh. No pressure or anything..)

When we were throwing the idea around I suggested that we start right away – knowing myself and the likelihood that I’ll forget about it by the time the first comes around! lol

I think my plan for the vlogging portion of it is to possibly record some of my workouts so that everyone reading can see what I’m doing and for myself, so that I can keep track of my workouts – plus it’s a great way to ensure you’ve got proper form. My flip videocam is going to come in so handy in the next little while!

I don’t think I’ll keep much of a food diary – but I’ll make sure to share a few of my favourite meals and snacks.
I tend to naturally have a higher protein, mid-range carb kind of diet, although living at home with my mom and all of her amazing pasta recipes (spaghetti, anyone?) is kind of tipping the scales towards a high carb diet. lol
I watch my portions and try not to eat a lot of sugar – but I don’t refrain from treating myself if I’m so inclined!
I don’t take any kind of supplements but I do supplement my meals with protein shakes, depending on the day, and I always have a protein shake after a workout.

I guess to start everything off I’ll share my usual workout routine and what my goals for the year are:

I always workout in the morning if I can help it – I like to get to the gym early, before the weight-room gets busy. I think it’s the perfect way to start my day and never fails to give me a burst of energy that lasts throughout the day. I’m really passionate about fitness and even on days when I can’t make it to the gym I make sure to get at least a quick workout in at home.
The little guy even has his own set of 2 pound weights so he can do it along with me.
Every morning I, unwillingly, start my workout off with some cardio, usually somewhere between 20 and 30 minutes.
Where I go from there depends on what area of my body I’m working out and what kind of workout I’m doing. If I’m focusing on something like core, my workout (including cardio) will be just over an hour, just because I tend to include core in almost every workout. If I’m doing a larger muscle group, like lower body/legs, my workout will be closer to 90 minutes/2 hours.

I hate cardio – with a passion. It is my least favourite part of my workout and I hate doing it without pairing it with something else and prefer “crossfit” training, mixing my cardio in with my weight training and ab work or waiting until the end of my workout to do it. The only problem with waiting is that I can usually justify not doing it because I “worked so hard” doing the other part of my workout.

That being said, I love running outdoors – with a passion. If it wasn’t for the shitty weather we’re having currently and the fact that I recently wore out one of the tires on my jogging stroller, I would be out for a run every morning. Trust me, even with the weather, I’ve been trying.
I’d take a trail over a treadmill any day.

Which brings me to my first fitness goal.
Last year I signed up for the Canada Army Run Half Marathon.
I injured myself training for it and could barely walk, let alone run. Worst let down of the year. Possibly ever.
So, this year I am signing up again. Even though I’m going to have to drive 9 hours back up there to participate.
I have to do it, it’s on my bucket list – plus I’ll be incredi-disappointed in myself if I don’t.
Last year it was more out of support for J, T, R and the McI bros while they were overseas.
This year it’s for me.
The only change is that instead of the half-marathon, I’m signing up for the 5k.
Only because I know without a doubt that I can do the 5k no problem, with a lot less training. Cop out? Maybe. But I’ll still get ‘er done.

I don’t have any specific weight-loss goals, I’m not so concerned with the numbers on the scale as I am with how I feel.
I love the way I feel after a really great workout.
I love the way my clothes fit and I love how comfortable I feel with my body.

While there’s always work to be done, I’m not really in it to lose weight.
Let me say right here, right now, that I will never be “tiny.”
In high school I couldn’t avoid it – 8 hours a day of dance class, dance team training and cheer-leading practice, plus workouts, tends to have that effect on your body. I have no desire to look the way I did back then (although I do still fit into my uniform, I recently learned.)
The thing is:
I love my breasts, I love my hips and I love being curvy.
One area of improvement – my belly. I’m not aiming for a 6 pack but it would be nice to finally get rid of the baby belly once and for all. I’ll say my goal here is to “tone.” I’ll leave that up to my own interpretation. lol

I recently had a “body age” assessment done at the gym, about a month ago, and while my gym doesn’t think my number is “ideal” because it can always be lower *rolls eyes* I’m still pretty pleased with it.
My body age is 24 which, in two weeks, will be a year younger than my actual age. So who am I to complain?

The one number on my assessment that I would like to see change is my body fat percentage.
It hasn’t changed in the last year since I had my very first assessment done (or it may have and because of the events in the last couple months I may just be back to where I started) and since I don’t tend to track my actual weight, I feel like there hasn’t been much progress. I don’t want to see it go down a lot, because like I said – I love my boobs! – but there’s definitely room for improvement.

Right now it is at 28.4% and I thiiiiiiink 20% sounds like a nice even goal, but I’ll monitor and adjust it accordingly.

Some of my favourite workout tools include:
•A checklist: Iike to plan my workout ahead of time so that I’m not wandering around wasting time and getting bored and so that I don’t forget anything I really wanted to do.
•My iPhone. I have several apps downloaded that I use when I need to plan a workout or need ideas: Self, Women’s Health and Workout of the Day are my favourite.
•Bodyrock.tv: Best workout blog ever.
•My interval timer app. Always handy.

For future comparison purposes my measurements are as follows:
Chest: 40 inches
Waist: 32 inches
Hips: 40 inches
And, for the heck of it – Thighs: 21.5 inches

So, be prepared in the coming weeks for some embarrassing photos and videos of me working out – or maybe cooking. We’ll see where it goes!

10 thoughts on “Workin’ on My Fitness: Getting Fergielicious.

  1. Wow, that’s some dedication. And here I have been high-fiving myself for making it to the Y 3 to 5 times a week for about 30 minutes.

    Amen to hating cardio. I can’t stand it but realize I have to.

  2. Woohoo! You are so going to be my inspiration! And I’ll be your cheering section! Can’t wait to see the awesome results you’re going to bring!

  3. I love cardio and hate weights with a passion. I would rather run on the treadmill for hours than lift, push or do whatever with weights. I’ve also decided to sign up for a number of 5k runs throughout the summer and the goal is to be able to finish mid-Fall with a 10k. Here’s to us! Looking forward to reading about your progress!

    • I don’t mind the cardio so much when I have my headphones and my iPod but for some reason when I go with Tina everyday I just can’t push myself and work through it. With the music I can zone out and do what I need to do – with her we talk too much while we’re doing it for me to be able to get to that place.

      Let me know how your races go!!

Leave a Reply

