children / JME / Parenting

there’s something to be said for positive vibes.

There are days when I wake up and it just feels like a good day.
When you get to sleep in just a little bit, make it to the gym before the daycare closes, make time to play with your child and you don’t even have to argue with him.

Yesterday was one of those days and I think I need more of them.

Often times I find myself really not looking forward to the opportunity to sit and play with my son and I feel guilty about it. I’ve had so much on my plate the last couple months and a to-do list that never seems to end. Plus I’m still trying to figure out a lot of the business finance things I need to do – which is not easy and I’m pretty stuck on (if anybody wants to help me figure out my cash flow analysis I will so buy you a beer) so when I have a few minutes to sit down and do nothing, that’s pretty much just what I want to do.
And I feel guilty.

I feel guilty because I’m sure to him it just looks like I’m sitting on the computer all day. Like I’m really not doing much of anything.
I feel guilty because he asks me to play with him and I’m constantly telling him, “just a few more minutes bud.”
Constantly.
So, yesterday I made a conscious effort to stop what I was doing when he wanted to talk to me and to take a break and play with him when he asked.
Obviously I can’t do that every day, I would never get any work done and if he ever wants to have his own room again, well, mommy’s going to need some money in the bank.
But, on the other hand, I don’t want all of his childhood memories to be of me working on the computer saying, “Just one more minute bud, and then I’ll have time to play with you.”

So, instead of working on my cash flow analysis yesterday, I played trains.
It was nice.

From now on I’m going to try to make more of an effort to stop and take time to play, even if it’s during “work hours”.

Yesterday just went so well, and it made him so happy – how could I not?
After we played we had dinner – and he actually ate. All of it.
We went to the gym and there were no tantrums when it was time to leave the daycare at the end of my workout.
We came home, and even though we skipped the bubblebath because it was getting late, there were no major melt downs at bedtime.
He slept through the entire night. I’m sure you don’t understand how big of a deal that is. It’s huge.
He never sleeps through the night. Never.

And at the end of the night, as I was laying in bed thinking about what a good day I’d been expecting to have and how it exceeded all of those expectations and I got a last minute text message.
Holy crap I honestly didn’t think my day could have gotten any better at that point.

8 days people.

I don’t think any day this week will exceed the one I had yesterday.
There’s something to be said for approaching the oncoming day with an open mind and a positive outlook.
I guess I’ll have to make a conscious effort to do it more often.

One thought on “there’s something to be said for positive vibes.

  1. Cheers to having a good day! I really like how you are able to view things from your son’s perspective. I wish more mothers knew how to do that. Kudos.

Leave a Reply

